The River Nymph

A fleeting glimpse of a girl bathing brings love at first sight. But will they ever meet again?

 

Georgia, 1924. Fourteen-year-old Tenny is determined to change her fate. After running away from bleak prospects to a tiny town, she fights to find a respectable place to stay. But with scant belongings and little money, she’s soon battling for survival in a world of dangerous men.

 

Pete could never forget the vision of the pretty girl he saw washing in a river. But the aspiring medical student has grand plans for his future, and pursuing the affections of the town belle is his biggest goal.

 

"In the River Nymph]--readers will find themselves rooting for them [the characters]...Lovett proves herself to be a master of plot....A richly detailed and thoroughly entertaining historical tale." -Kirkus Reviews

                                                                                           

" This engrossing tale of a determined young woman escaping poverty in 1920s Georgia will capture readers’ hearts.

Great for fans of Delia Owens’s Where the Crawdads Sing, Jojo Moyes’s The Giver of Stars". --Book Life Reviews

"Well-begun is half done, and debut novelist Lovett captures us on the very first page of [Rubies from Burma] set in rural Georgia in the middle of the last century. ...Exceptionally satisfying, Lovett is the real deal. "

                              --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)        

Anne Lovett’s luscious debut novel, Rubies from Burma, places her clearly in the tradition of fine Southern story tellers. This poignant story of two sisters at odds...kept me up at night, turning its pages. ...Readers, like me, will eagerly await her next book.

                               -- Rosemary Daniell, author of The Hurricane Season and seven other books of poetry and prose

[Rubies from Burma] is a masterpiece of lush writing, telling of a young girl’s growing-up years at a time in history when innocence was not so rare. Scenes of life on a Georgia farm of the 1940s and ‘50s will stay in your mind and heart....

                                   --Judith Keim, author of The Beach House Hotel series and other books.

 

[Saving Miss Lillian] is a well-plotted, solidly paced work of women’s fiction in which an impulsive decision by [nurse Sunny Iles] to become a personal caregiver to a wealthy patient soon has her embroiled in a web of deceit.

.The main characters in Lovett’s book are fully developed and will easily remind readers of people in their own lives. Readers will care about them and their story.

                                          --The Book Life Prize

MY BOOKS

​FOLLOW ME and be first to know when new books come out!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon

© 2019 by Anne Lovett. Proudly created with Wix.com